Resenha
Filter RSS

Your rating
Review this project

2019-10-13 02:26
Resenha por BiptoN

Rating:
(0 of 0 people found this review helpful)
Wish they put whdd back into this new build

2019-09-24 03:55
Resenha por marron grosbek

Rating:
(0 of 0 people found this review helpful)
Very robust. Always works on any PC. Low-level access to partition table (gparted), fdisk for disk repair, and even a stripped down version of Firefox.
Pros
I've been using this for years to backup my windows disk drive. Using "dd" I can get a binary copy of everything, including the master boot record, partition table, etc. My disk crashed recently, and I was able to upload my image to the new disk and it worked like a charm! Did NOT have to reinstall all my programs or re-enter any software licenses. The software is completely self-contained. No need for an internet connection and no need to download any packages. Which is really good if your trying to resurrect a broken computer.
Cons
The more Linux you know, the better. With simple instructions you can do many tasks, but Linux can be frustrating if you have never used it before. Also, you'll need to know how to get in to your BIOS and change the boot disk to point to the dvd-drive. I know Linux quite well, and I had to try my backup a few times to get it to do exactly what I wanted. If you're a Linux geek, you'll love it.

2019-08-24 08:50
Resenha por fs

Rating:
(1 of 1 people found this review helpful)
A must have for any sysadmin and advanced user.

2019-08-23 09:44
Resenha por Amazedatthis

Rating:
(1 of 1 people found this review helpful)
It's too big for a CD!!!! It's over 800 mb! It won't fit on a CD!!!!! It might work just fine on a DVD, but it's not called 'SystemRescueDVD'!!!
Pros
None. It doesn't work.

2019-07-03 04:07
Resenha por kamee

Rating:
(0 of 0 people found this review helpful)
many thanks for all of you and i will come again to active wit

2019-06-05 23:23
Resenha por Supporter

Rating:
(1 of 2 people found this review helpful)
Dead project. nothing useful.

2019-06-03 15:21
Resenha por JustMe

Rating:
(2 of 2 people found this review helpful)
I concur with the other folks on the one star rating. They completely ruined it. So many basic things are missing, like all the directories inside the /mnt directory... And even the wifi worked out of the box. Now I gotta make all that stuff? What is this, Linux From Scratch? Not knocking them, they're cool. And really! systemd? Sorry, my live Slackware can do so much more. 5.3.2 is the last good version. I downloaded two copies, in case I lose one

2019-05-14 11:19
Resenha por mischief11

Rating:
(0 of 1 people found this review helpful)
worked flawlessly typlease add the vlc player

2019-05-12 15:26
Resenha por RY_G

Rating:
(3 of 4 people found this review helpful)
Version 6.x - full fail. "Rescue" - not rescue, "System" - only Arch, CD - ???. Ordinary LiveDVD common among thousands.

2019-05-10 10:35
Resenha por TheSpork

Rating:
(4 of 4 people found this review helpful)
It's been my rescue CD of choice for years, but now I'm EXTREMELY DISAPPOINTED by upstream switch from Gentoo to ArchLinux and overall changes in branch 6, which make the ISO very inconvenient for server rescue. They tend to making it just another one live desktop image, useless for a system administrator. Going to look for alternatives. Keep It Simple, Stupid! (c)
Pros
Actually, none. Still decent toolset (not unique though), but very inconvenient for use in emergency.
Cons
- Very basic boot menu, next to useless. - NetworkManager. Nobody would care (and have time) for configuring network via NM in emergency. NM is good for graphical desktop, but nobody would use GUI in emergency. - systemd.